Illinois Car Insurance Requirements
Whether you’re driving to the first McDonald’s franchise in Des Plaines, Illinois, visiting Harrah’s Joliet Casino & Hotel or taking in a baseball game at Wrigley field, you need to protect yourself and your vehicle with the best car insurance.
- Illinois’ mandatory insurance law requires drivers to carry their insurance card at all times and present it to a law enforcement officer upon request.
- The state of Illinois will randomly select drivers to make sure they have proper car insurance. If selected, you’ll receive a letter asking to verify your coverage. Law requires you to fill out the form and return it within 30 days.
- When you sign your vehicle registration renewal form, you’re also guaranteeing that the vehicle will be insured during the entire registration period.
- Punishment for not carrying auto insurance in Illinois can be substantial. You could have your license plates suspended or receive a minimum fine of $500. Driving with a suspended registration could result in a $1,000 fine.
More About Required Illinois Auto Insurance Coverage
While some types of auto insurance coverage are required, you may choose to reject others. Illinois drivers must have at least the following coverages to drive legally in the state.
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: Minimum legal requirement $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident
Property Damage Liability Coverage: Minimum legal requirement $15,000
Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: Minimum legal requirement $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident
Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Coverage: Minimum legal requirement $15,000 with a $250 deductible. Note that this coverage is optional.
Underinsured Motorist Coverage: Minimum legal requirement $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
Note that this coverage is optional.
Illinois Teen Driver Laws
In Illinois, there is a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program to help teen drivers gradually get more comfortable driving. Drivers may apply for a permit at age 15. At this point, the teen must also enroll in a driver’s education course. After 50 hours of practice and upon completion of the driver’s education course, 16 and 17-year old drivers may apply for an initial license. At 18, Illinois drivers can get a full license, which lifts restrictions on the hours the teen may be on the road and how many passengers he or she may have in the car.
Call InsureOne today at 800-467-8733 or enter your information in the form at the top of the page for a free Illinois car insurance quote and see how much you can save.