Required Car Insurance in Kansas

At a glance, here is what you need to know about Kansas auto insurance requirements. For help with all your auto insurance needs, call your friendly InsureOne specialist. He can take the hassle out of finding the right policy for you.

You are required to have the following coverage as part of your Kansas auto insurance policy:

Bodily Injury Liability: Minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident

Property Damage Liability: Minimum of $10,000 per accident

Personal Injury Protection

Kansas is considered a no-fault state.

This does not mean that fault is not considered after an accident. However, regardless of fault, your injuries after an accident will be covered by personal injury protection coverage before any other type of insurance coverage.

Your car insurance policy must include PIP at the following minimums per accident:

  • $4,500 per person for medical costs.
  • $900 per month for 1 year for disability and loss of income.
  • $25 per day for in-home services.
  • $2,000 for funeral expenses.
  • $4,500 for rehabilitation.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Uninsured motorist coverage helps pay for your injuries if hurt in an accident with an uninsured driver.

In Kansas, you must have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage at the following minimum limits per accident:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury, per person.
  • $50,000 for total injuries if multiple people in your car are hurt.

Kansas Teen Driving Laws

If you didn’t obtain an instruction permit or restricted license prior to Jan. 1, 2010- then all of the requirements and restrictions shown below that take effect on Jan. 1, 2010 are what apply to you.

For a complete list visit http://www.ksrevenue.org/dmvgdl.html

Instruction Permit – Ages 14, 15 and 16

  • Present acceptable proof of identity
  • Age: Minimum 14 years old
  • Testing required: Vision. Written – or certificate of completion from driver education.
  • Parental approval required: Yes for 14 and 15 year olds
  • Driver education required: No
  • Driving restrictions: Licensed adult in front seat at all times – minimum age 21
  • Wireless restriction: No use of wireless communication devices except to report illegal activity or to summons medical or emergency help
  • Passenger restriction: No
  • Time required to be held: 1 year to advance to restricted license

Instruction Permit – Age 17 and Up

    • Present acceptable proof of identity
    • Age: Minimum 17 years old
    • Testing required: Vision. Written – or certificate of completion from driver education.
    • Parental approval required: No
    • Driver education required: No
    • Driving restrictions: Licensed adult in front seat at all times – minimum age 21
    • Wireless restriction: No
    • Passenger restriction: No
    • Time required to be held: None

Call InsureOne today at 800-467-8733 or enter your information in the form at the top of the page for a free Kansas Car Insurance Quote.