Because an SR-22 is associated with high-risk auto insurance, it is important you properly file the required documents. Also, keep in mind, a teen driver designated as a high-risk driver must also file an SR-22 if required. Here are the necessary steps:
- Contact a state-authorized insurance agency to request for a SR-22 filing.
- Pay the processing fee to the agency. You can request an online car insurance quote.
- As per the State laws of Illinois, the minimum amount of coverage is as follows:
- $20,000 for one person killed or injured
- $40,000 for two or more persons killed or injured
- $15,000 for property damage.
- Upon receiving the request from the agent the carrier sends the SR-22 directly to the Secretary of State in about 30 days.
- If accepted, you will receive the SR-22 from the agency, along with a letter from the Secretary of State.
- The SR-22 must be maintained for a minimum period of 36 months. If the motorist does not renew it at least 15 days before the expiration date, the agency must notify the State. The State may then suspend the driving record of the motorist until the insurance is reinstated – it’s recommended to renew the SR-22 at least 45 days in advance.
FOR OUT OF STATE RESIDENTS
If you are out of state, you can request a waiver of your financial responsibility proof by filing an affidavit. The affidavit form must be completed and mailed to the following address:
Illinois Secretary of State
Driver Services Department
Financial Responsibility Section
2701 Dirksen Pkwy.
Springfield, IL 62723
If you relocate to another state, the affidavit filed will only waive off your financial responsibility in Illinois; the requirements of your new state of residence will however be applicable to you.
- An amount of $55,000 in cash or securities may be deposited with the State Treasurer in place of the SR-22. The motorist can also file a surety bond or a real estate bond approved by a court of record.