Because an SR-22 is associated with high-risk auto insurance, it is important you properly file the required documents. Also, keep in mind, a teen driver designated as a high-risk driver must also file an SR-22 if required. Here are the necessary steps:
- Contact a state-authorized insurance agency to request for a SR-22 filing.
- Pay the processing fee to the agency. You can request an online car insurance quote.
- As per the State laws of Missouri, the minimum amount of coverage is as follows:
- $25,000 for one person killed or injured
- $50,000 for two or more persons killed or injured
- $10,000 for property damage.
- Upon receiving the request from the agent the carrier sends the SR-22 directly to the Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle and Driver License in about 30 days.
- If accepted, you will receive the SR-22 from the agency, along with a letter from the Department of Revenue- Motor Vehicle and Driver License.
- The SR-22 has to be maintained for a minimum period of 2 years starting from the date of suspension if your license was suspended due to Motor Vehicle Accident Judgment.
- The SR 22 has to be maintained for a period of three years if your license was suspended for False Insurance or Mandatory insurance.
FOR OUT OF STATE RESIDENTS
If you have a license suspension for an accident in another state, you must file an SR 22 for two years from the date of suspension.
- An amount of $30,000 to $50,000 in the form of bonds from an authorized company can be deposited with the State treasury in place of SR22.
- For more information on SR 22 filing in Missouri, you can contact:
Missouri Driver License Bureau
Motor Vehicle Division
301, West High Street
Jefferson City, MO 65105