Required Car Insurance in Wisconsin
At a glance, here is what you need to know about Wisconsin auto insurance requirements. For help with all your auto insurance needs, call your friendly InsureOne specialist. He can take the hassle out of finding the right policy for you.
In order to fulfill Wisconsin’s car insurance laws, you must have the following coverage types:
- Uninsured motorist.
- Underinsured motorist.
Your liability car insurance will help you pay for bodily injuries or property damage resulting from an accident that you caused.
Wisconsin law requires the following minimum liability coverages per accident:
- $25,000 for injury or death, per person.
- $50,000 total for injury or death to multiple people in a single accident.
- $10,000 for property damage.
Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Your uninsured motorist coverage will help cover costs of injuries to you and your passengers in the event of a car accident caused by a driver who does not have car insurance (uninsured), OR a driver whose car insurance is insufficient (underinsured).
In Wisconsin, your car insurance policy must meet the following minimum coverage requirements per accident for uninsured and underinsured coverage:
- $100,000 for injuries per person.
- $300,000 for total injuries per accident.
Proof of Insurance
Although car insurance is mandatory in Wisconsin, you do not need to provide proof of insurance when you apply for your Wisconsin driver’s license or register your car.
You must, however, be able to show proof of insurance IF:
- You are involved in a car accident.
- You are pulled over by a law enforcement officer for a traffic stop.
Teen Driving and the Graduated License in Wisconsin
Wisconsin has a Graduated Driver Licensing Program (GDL0. Wisconsin’s graduated driver licensing (GDL) requirements for teens ages 15 ½ to age 18.
Anyone learning to drive a car or light truck (class D), motorcycle (class M) or commercial motor vehicle (classes A, B and C) must first obtain an instruction permit. Permits are issued at Division of Motor Vehicle (DMV) service centers located throughout the state.
Probationary Driver License
A probationary license is a driver license issued to a beginning driver, valid for operation according to the restrictions on the back.
A probationary license is issued for the time period ending two years from the applicant’s next birthday. It is valid to operate automobiles, light trucks, mopeds and motorcycles (if the driver has a motorcycle endorsement). The DMV issues probationary licenses to:
- new drivers.
- persons with foreign or international licenses who pass the required tests.
- Persons reinstating a revoked or canceled probationary license.
- new residents under the age of 21 who hold a license expired for more than six months, or with less than three years of driving experience, or new residents holding an out-of-state license, but are unable to surrender it.
Persons who hold a probationary license are assessed double points for second and subsequent point convictions.
A probationary license differs from a regular license by the graduated license restrictions for drivers under 18 years old. A probationary license is not an instruction permit or learner’s permit. It is valid for operation within and outside of Wisconsin.
An instruction permit and probationary driver license will be suspended for six months if you receive 12 or more demerit points in 12 months.
Regular Driver’s License
To get a regular license, you must:
- be at least 19.
- hold your probationary driver license until you complete your first renewal, generally two to three years.
- wear your seat belt.
- maintain absolute sobriety (no alcohol).
New residents at least 21 years old who hold a valid out-of-state license, not expired, for more than six months and have at least three years of driving experience may obtain a regular driver license.
There is no doubling of points if you have a regular driver license and receive a traffic ticket. However, your driver license can be suspended from two months to a year for certain violations.
Call InsureOne today at 800-467-8733 or enter your information in the form at the top of the page to receive a free Wisconsin car insurance quote.