Everything You Need to Know About Auto Insurance in Delaware

Bordered by the Atlantic Ocean, Delaware River, and Delaware Bay, Delaware is a small state in the Mid-Atlantic. It is positioned on a peninsula with beaches and sand dunes all around it. There are a little more than a million people living in Delaware.
Even though it’s a smaller state, there is plenty of traffic on the roads and highways, making it necessary for drivers to carry auto insurance. Delaware, like every state, mandates that drivers carry coverage.
In 2021, Delaware had 754,593 licensed drivers, but there were 967,400 registered motor vehicles. A total of 28,473 traffic crashes in 2021 resulted in 139 fatalities and 8,255 injured people.
InsureOne has expert agents who can guide you through the entire process of selecting the best car insurance in Delaware for your needs and budget.

How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Delaware

The average cost a Delaware resident will pay for the state minimum car insurance is $792 per year. Opting for full coverage costs an average of $2,028 per year. However, with this option, motorists receive collision and comprehensive coverage. The national average for full coverage is $2,327, and the national minimum is $684.

Auto Insurance
Ready to Get a Quick Quote?

Reasons Why Insurance Is Expensive in Delaware?

You may be wondering why rates are higher in Delaware than the national average. In fact, Delaware is one of the top ten states for higher premiums. Delaware has 1,948 square miles of land area but over a million residents. This makes for more congested highways and more accidents. Thus, the rates are higher.

Affordable Car Insurance Rates Comparison by Cities in Delaware

Living in one of Delaware’s larger cities may have its benefits. At the same time, it can affect how much you’ll pay for an auto policy. The following chart shows the state minimum and full coverage monthly costs in some of Delaware’s more populated cities.

City City Liability Insurance Coverage
Wilmington $216 $85
Dover $231 $91
Newark $191 $76
Middletown $172 $71

How Bundling Your Vehicle and Homeowners Insurance Can Save You Money in DE?

Bundling is an efficient way to streamline your paperwork and get a reduced price on insurance. Bundling consists of using one company for multiple policies. Most companies will bundle your policies and give you a reduced price as a loyalty reward.

What Types of Auto Discounts are Available in Delaware?

You may be eligible for a host of different discounts in Delaware. It’s best to discuss all your options with an experienced advisor. Some potential discounts you may qualify for in Delaware include the following:

  • Good driver discount
  • Student discount
  • Bundle discount
  • First responder discount
  • Defensive driver discount
Auto Insurance
Ready to Get a Quick Quote?

Delaware Car Insurance Laws

All registered vehicles in Delaware must carry the state minimum insurance coverage and a Personal Injury Protection (PIP) plan.

What Are the Mandatory Car Insurance Requirements in Delaware?

The mandatory insurance you must carry in Delaware will satisfy the state minimums. This coverage includes the following minimum amounts:

  • Liability insurance must be $25,000 per person and up to $50,000 per accident for bodily injury.
  • Property damage liability coverage must be a minimum of $10,000.
  • Personal injury protection (PIP) insurance must be $15,000 for any one person and $30,000 for all persons injured in an accident.

What Is the Penalty for Driving Without Insurance in Delaware?

If you drive without the mandatory insurance in Delaware, you can be fined between $1,500 (minimum) to $2,000 maximum. In addition, you may have your driving license suspended for a 6-month period.

What Factors Does Delaware Law Allow in Determining Your Premiums?

Your insurance may be reduced or increased based on various factors in Delaware, such as:

  • Vehicle type
  • Age
  • Gender
  • Past claims
  • Driving record
  • Anti-theft features in your car
  • DUIs
  • Multi-policy bundling
Find an office near you

What Happens If I Damage Property

When a vehicle accident occurs, not only are people sometimes injured, but property is damaged. The vehicle may hit a fence, sign, or something else. Also, the other person’s vehicle is damaged. What happens if you damage someone else’s property during an auto accident? Delaware is considered a fault-based state, which means that the person at fault must pay for the damages. This includes property that may be involved.

In some instances, the accident may be considered the fault of both parties. In this case, each party is found at fault a percentage.

Be sure you speak to an InsureOne agent to help you get the best auto policy for your situation.

What Is Driving Like in Delaware?

Delaware gets about 15 inches of snow a year, making the wintertime more of a challenge for motorists. Since the land space is small for the population size, road travel comes with a higher risk of accidents.

How Many Car Accidents Happen in Delaware?

Delaware had 28,473 accidents in 2021. There were 134 that were fatal and 5,267 that involved personal injuries.

The following chart shows how many fatalities occurred in the various bigger cities in 2021.

City Fatalities
Wilmington 5
Dover 2
Newark 4
Middletown 1

How Many Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists Are in Delaware?

Although it is the law to carry insurance, not everyone abides by this. In Delaware, approximately 8.5% of motorists are uninsured. In addition to this, many people don’t have enough coverage in case of a serious accident. That’s why it’s critical to make sure you have enough protection to offset any gaps.

Get the Best Car Insurance in Delaware Today

Contact InsureOne online or call us at 800-836-2240 for more coverage details. Get started with one of our expert agents to help you with a customized quote for an auto policy that fits your needs. Stop by one of our convenient locations for a face-to-face meeting.