Maine Car Insurance
Everything You Need To Know About Auto Insurance in Maine
From lush forests and mountains to rocky coastlines dotted by lighthouses and fishing villages where industry is driven by lobster and clam catches, Maine is quintessentially New England, and more than 1.3 million people call the Pine Tree State home.
When French and English settlers reached the coast at the turn of the 17th century, several Algonquian-speaking tribal nations inhabited this region, with ancestral ties dating back thousands of years. Several conflicts and skirmishes broke out between the tribes and the settlers, forcing many European settlements to fail. What later became the territory of Maine was part of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts until 1820, when it broke away and became a state all its own under the Missouri Compromise.
If you’re looking for the best auto policy to keep you and your loved ones safe on the road, InsureOne expert agents can help you find top-rated auto insurance at a great rate in Maine.
How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Maine?
Maine drivers pay annual auto premiums of $941 for full coverage and $225 for minimum liability insurance.
These premiums are much lower than national averages, which stand at around $2,014 and $622 for full and minimum coverage, respectively. That means Maine drivers pay $397 to $1,073 less for auto coverage than drivers in other states.
What Does It Mean if Maine Is At-Fault?
Because Maine is an at-fault state, drivers who cause a crash (and their insurance companies) are responsible for medical costs to treat any physical injuries that others involved sustain or funeral expenses if anyone involved in the crash dies from their injuries. They must also pay for the property damage caused by the crash.
Affordable Car Insurance Rates Comparison by Cities in Maine
For a comparison of the average monthly premiums drivers pay in different cities across the state, check out our breakdown below.
|Full Coverage Insurance
|Liability Insurance Coverage
Our average monthly premiums by city are based on the following methodology: male, age 30, lowest possible legal coverage allowed by Maine.
How Bundling Your Vehicle and Homeowners Insurance Can Save You Money in Maine
Bundling coverage usually reduces annual premiums by around 5% to 25%. This discount option is especially beneficial to homeowners, who tend to pay more for coverage than renters.
If you own a house in Bangor or Portland, for example, and bundle your home and auto coverage, you’ll likely get the maximum 25% rate reduction on your premium. By comparison, someone renting an apartment in these areas or any other Maine city or town might only receive a discount of up to 15%.
An InsureOne agent can help you build a quality package that meets your needs and budget. They do all the work, comparing offerings from top providers, which saves you time and money.
What Types of Auto Discounts Are Available in Maine?
You can save money on your premiums if you’re eligible for one or more discounts. A bundling discount, for example, could bring your rate down by as much as 25% if you combine your homeowners insurance with your auto policy coverage.
Other rate-reducing discounts include:
- Good driver
- Paperless billing
- Defensive driver
- Good studen
Maine Car Insurance Laws
Maine has a 50/100/25 minimum mandatory liability coverage mandate and also requires drivers to have uninsured or underinsured driver and medical payment coverage. Here’s a closer look at what this means.
What Are the Mandatory Car Insurance Requirements in Maine?
State law sets mandatory monetary amounts that insurers must pay if a policyholder causes a crash. In Maine, these limits are 50/100/25. That means if you cause a crash, a basic policy must provide:
- $50,000 to cover the medical bills or funeral expenses of one person involved if they are hurt or die as a result of their injuries
- $100,000 to cover treatment for injuries or deaths per accident
- $25,000 to pay for property damage
Your policy must also include:
- $50,000 in uninsured motorist coverage per person
- $100,000 per accident
- $2,000 in medical payment coverage or MedPay
Much like personal insurance protection, or PIP, MedPay helps pay for medical costs for you and your passengers regardless of who is at fault in the car accident.
What Is the Penalty for Driving Without Insurance in Maine?
If you’re caught driving without insurance in the Pine Tree State, you’ll face fines of $100 to $500, and your driving privileges will be suspended until you provide proof of valid, active coverage. You’ll also have to pay a $50 reinstatement fee, a $20 to $30 license fee, and a $35 registration fee.
If you don’t have active coverage because your policy lapsed, you’ll have to file an SR-22 certificate to show proof of financial liability, and this will make your premiums soar for the three years it’s in effect.
What Factors Does Maine Law Allow in Determining Your Premiums?
States typically allow insurers to calculate premiums based on several factors. Some of the most important ones are:
- · Age
- · Gender
- · Marital status
- · Credit history
- · Location
- · Vehicle type
- · Driving record and experienceHere’s What You Need to Know When Driving in Maine
While most states have similar road rules, sometimes these laws vary. Here are a few rules of the road to keep in mind when you’re driving in Maine:
- Pedestrians always have the right of way. Whether they’re standing at an unmarked crosswalk or at a corner that doesn’t have traffic lights, you must always stop and yield the right of way to pedestrians.
- Limit use of the fast lane. In the Pine Tree State, you can only use the fast lane for passing another vehicle or turning left.
- When driving, your headlights must be turned on 30 minutes before sunset. If you’re on the road 30 minutes before sunrise, it’s OK to turn them off.
- Don’t use a handheld mobile phone while driving. This is prohibited, even while stopped in traffic or at a traffic light.
At InsureOne, our expert agents help you find the best auto insurance with customizable options that best meet your needs.
What Is Driving Like in Maine?
Because of its proximity to the Atlantic Ocean, Maine has a humid climate, with warm and often muggy summers and long, frigid winters that bring large amounts of snowfall. Excess rain, snow, and ice can pose all sorts of dangers on the road, and you should exercise an abundance of caution during these weather events.
How Many Car Accidents Happen in Maine?
In 2021, 135 fatal crashes in Maine resulted in 153 deaths. The following chart shows the number of fatal crashes in various cities across the state that year.
|Fatal Crashes in 2021
How Many Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists Are in Maine?
In Maine, nearly 5% of drivers aren’t insured. The state is among those with the lowest number of uninsured or underinsured motorists.
Get the Best Car Insurance in Maine Today
InsureOne offers a one-stop auto insurance shopping experience with expert agents who will listen to your needs and help you find top-quality insurance options that work best for you.
We will save you time and money by researching quotes and presenting you with several options that meet your needs. Get a quote online, visit us at an office near you, or call us at (800) 836-2240 for a quote.