Kansas Car Insurance
Everything You Need to Know About Auto Insurance in Kansas
Located in the Midwest, Kansas has a population of almost three million people. Known for its rolling hills and prairies, Kansas is considered the wheat state due to being one of the country’s leading wheat producers.
Although Kansas does have extensive plains and fields, there are plenty of highways and roads that people use to traverse the state. Having auto coverage is vital to staying compliant with state laws and protecting yourself from potential lawsuits.
There were 57,598 total traffic crashes in Kansas in 2021. Out of those accidents, 12,874 resulted in non-fatal injuries, and 381 resulted in fatalities.
During this same year, approximately 2.2 million vehicles were registered on the road.
This shows the risks of getting in an auto accident. Be sure you have the proper insurance so you are covered and able to avoid civil liability. Advisors at InsureOne can guide you through finding the best auto insurance in Kansas at a reasonable price.
How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Kansas
Rates can vary because of the many factors that go into premium costs. However, the average cost of a state minimum policy in Kansas is $498 per year or $41 per month. If you opt for full coverage, the premium average is $1,659 per year or $138 per month.
The national average is approximately $684 for the state minimums and $2,148 for full coverage.
What Does It Mean If Kansas Is No-Fault?
Kansas is designated as a no-fault state. This means that Kansas drivers will look to their own insurance companies for relief after an accident, regardless of who is at fault. Drivers must purchase personal injury protection (PIP) to help cover their medical bills, even if they were not at fault in the accident. In addition, a no-fault state puts limitations on who can file civil suits after an accident. One limitation is that drivers can’t sue for injuries unless their medical expenses exceed $2,000.
Affordable Car Insurance Rates Comparison by Cities in Kansas
Living in one of the larger Kansas cities may add a few dollars to your premiums. Since highly populated cities have more traffic, the rates could be higher than the average. Here is a breakdown of the costs for a policy in some of Kansas’ biggest cities.
|Full Coverage Insurance
|Liability Insurance Coverage
Our average monthly premiums by city are based on the following methodology: male, age 30, with a good driving record.
How Bundling Your Vehicle and Homeowners Insurance Can Save You Money in Kansas
Bundling your various policies can be a great idea to save money. Bundling involves putting more than one insurance policy under one umbrella. For example, you can bundle your homeowners and auto policies together and reap benefits of up to 25% off.
Some companies will offer a discount on your overall costs if you bundle. In addition, you have the advantage of paying just one bill a month instead of two. In some cases, you may be able to combine your deductibles, saving you even more cash.
When you contact InsureOne, an agent will customize an insurance bundle package for you that fits your budget and needs.
What Types of Auto Discounts Are Available in Kansas?
Certain criteria may make you eligible for auto discounts. Here are a few of the insurance discounts that may be available to you in Kansas:
- Driver Education
- Continuous policy (no gaps in coverage)
- Customer loyalty (after you’ve been with the company a while, they may offer a discount)
- Set up autopay
- Good driver record
- Vehicle is equipped with safety features
- Anti-theft system installed
Kansas Car Insurance Laws
Kansas residents must carry insurance to operate a vehicle. The minimum amount of insurance necessary includes carrying liability and uninsured motorist coverage.
What Are the Mandatory Car Insurance Requirements in Kansas?
Auto coverage is mandatory in Kansas, with necessary coverage for liability, personal injury protection (PIP), and uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage.
Liability insurance helps pay for your damages and injuries in an accident. You must carry the following liability minimums for Kansas:
- $25,000/$50,000 bodily injury or death per person/accident
- $25,000 property damage
- $25,000/$50,000 uninsured per person/accident
- $4,500 PIP
Personal Injury Protection is a type of “No Fault” insurance. It will help cover your medical expenses and other related costs. The minimum PIP includes the following:
- $4,500 per person for medical expenses
- $900 per month for one year for disability/loss of income
- $25 per day for in-home services
- $2,000 for funeral, burial or cremation expenses
- $4,500 for rehabilitation expenses
- Survivor Benefits
What Is the Penalty for Driving Without Insurance in Kansas?
Since carrying insurance is mandatory, there are penalties for those who disregard this law. If it’s a first offense, the fines may not be as steep. However, fines can range from $300 to $1,000, and a person could get some jail time. If it’s a third offense, 90 days in jail is the mandatory minimum. However, someone could get up to six months in jail for driving without insurance.
What Factors Does Kansas Law Allow in Determining Your Premiums?
Several factors can play a role in what your auto policy rate will be. These include:
- Driving habits
- Policy specifics
- Prior driving record
- Type of vehicle being insured
Here’s What You Need to Know When Driving in Kansas
Driving in Kansas is different from driving in some other states. Since Kansas has a no-fault law, drivers must carry personal injury protection (PIP). This is an extra cost to drivers. For Kansas residents, it’s vital to work with an insurance agent who can incorporate the necessary coverage at an affordable price.
At InsureOne, our agents are here to help you sort out the details about Kansas auto insurance requirements. They’ll make sure you are compliant with the law.
What Is Driving Like in Kansas?
Kansas is known to have a decent amount of snow every year. This can create hazards for drivers as they navigate the roads. There are approximately 3,000 auto accidents a year due to the snow and ice.
How Many Car Accidents Happen in Kansas?
There were 57,598 total traffic crashes in Kansas, in 2021. The main causes of accidents in Kansas include:
- Inattention accounted for 18.1% of accidents.
- An animal — wild or domestic accounted for 13.2%.
- A driver violating a right of way was the cause of 10.0% of accidents.
- Following too closely accounted for 7.0%.
- Driving too fast for conditions caused 6.0%.
According to 2021 data from the Kansas Department of Transportation, the following number of crashes occurred in cities across the state of Kansas that year:
|Number of Crashes
How Many Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists Are in Kansas?
Approximately 9.2% of drivers in Kansas are underinsured, and about 11% of drivers in the state don’t have car insurance.
Get the Best Car Insurance in Kansas Today
InsureOne agents are ready to customize an auto insurance package that meets the legal requirements and fits your budget. We’ll do the work for you so you can spend time doing more enjoyable activities. Check with us for a fast online car insurance quote or give us a call at 800-836-2240 for more details. You are also welcome to stop in one of our convenient locations.